Becoming a Novelist


It seems I’m doing a lot of “becoming” lately, although in many ways these changes have been a long time coming. As I’ve mentioned before, I started writing fan fiction in 2015, which was also the same year I wrote my first novel during NaNoWriMo, Artifact of the Dawn. It’s over two years later and that novel is finally complete. I may have written it in thirty days, but it’s taken me this long to complete all the revisions and edits that it needed.

I’m really excited to try and get this novel published. It’s really been a labor of love. Artifact of the Dawn is just the first novel in a planned series of five. I have nearly completed the first draft of the second novel in the series as well.

Here’s the teaser I wrote for Artifact of the Dawn:

The elves are an ancient race. Their history is mired in mystery and half-truths. They are intractable and embroiled in ancient traditions. Centuries ago, when the elves first encountered humans, a war between them became inevitable. Since then, the elves and humans have forged a tenuous truce after a long and bloody war. Now the two races mostly try to avoid each and neither side wishes for renewed hostilities.

A freak rainstorm drives an elf and a human into a forbidden area deep in the forest that no one has entered since before the time of the war. The ancient technology they discover there will unravel everything they had ever known. Together, Ardyn and Jevan will try to make sense of what they discovered and to forge a better future for both of their people.

If you want to read more, I have posted the first chapter of Artifact of the Dawn onto my author’s blog.

Besides science fiction series, I’m also writing a gay erotic romance, Coffee-to-Go. It’s along the lines of what I have written for my fan fiction works, but this time with original characters, setting, and story.

Leo was the barista in his own small coffee shop. He preferred to be independent and didn’t rely on anyone. One day that all changed when he rushed after one of his regulars, a man he only knew by the order he made every day–one large coffee-to-go.

He should have looked where he was going. He shouldn’t have run after his customer who left behind his coffee in a rush. He should have seen that car coming…

Now Leo was laid up in the hospital and dependent on the last person he ever expected: Mr. Coffee-to-Go. Nurse Andrew Schreiber. Andy.

Will Leo be able to get past the mortification of having Andy care for him during his convalescence? Andy hopes his charm and gentle bedside manner will help him win the heart of his favorite barista.

I haven’t shared a chapter of this online yet because this is still being written, but to follow the progress of all my gay romance writing, check out my other author’s blog at graysonbell.net.

I am very hopeful that I become published in 2018 and can officially call myself a novelist. Wish me luck!


Posted

in

,

by

Tags:

Comments

Leave a comment